Buy/Stream ‘Way Out East’ here

Announcing their debut album last year, producer duo Re.decay now drop their Way Out East LP featuring Shekhinah and ADH on lead single Farther. 

In their most ambitious project to date, Berlin based duo Re.decay showcase 16 artists across 7 countries including South Africa, Ghana, Nigeria, US, Canada and more. Their signature and gritty, yet lush production draws on raw hip-hop, soulful house and smooth R&B, taking influence from Dr Dre, Little Dragon, Anderson Paak, Mac Miller, GuiltyBeatz, Kendrick Lamar, Madlib and others.

Esteemed South African talent Shekhinah and loyal collaborator ADH take centre stage on Farther each displaying a unique and commanding presence with their expert wordplay alongside sultry Latin riffs, soulful bass and hypnotic afro-hip-hop grooves.

Re.decay’s own Owen Ross introduces a narrative about family ties and connection’s to one’s lineage, then Shekhinah and ADH add their lived definitions of these sacred bonds. Shekhinah firmly claims the spotlight with harmony-laden, spine-tingling vocals in an intimate homage to her own father

whom she cherishes dearly. One of South Africa’s leading talents, Shekhinah has built a huge and loyal following with her soul driven artistry. She’s collabed with South Africa‘s biggest hitmakers including Black Coffee catapulting her name globally, whilst releasing critically acclaimed albums Trouble In Paradise (2021) and Rose Gold (2017), establishing herself as an important voice on the South Africa’s R&B scene and beyond.

With Farther setting the scene for the LP, Way Out East continues with rugged, atmospheric tones and lyrics that vent about toxic internet culture  delivered by Ghanian MC Chief Kellz.

Previous single, These Days follows whilst Seder continues with the unlikely pairing of Korean-Canadian singer K. Marie Kim and rising New York MC Ché Noir. Radio explores cinematic hip-hop beats with rising Baltimore rappers DDM and Brian Ennals joining Ghana wordsmith Temple, an ascending star in his own right. The raw edge builds with Nobody Knows featuring Baltimore’s Eze Jackson and his brother Emmanuel Jackson who share an undeniable chemistry as they paint a picture of perseverance through struggle and hardship in their hometown.

Check The Vibe continues the Baltimore journey, whilst Spinal Tap shifts sonic spheres, showcasing driving, yet laid back house music. Mawcom X features on Cosa Nostra whilst About A Tree is a ballad from Tyler Moonlight built around otherworldly instrumental and vibrant sample textures. Another Day draws the LP to a close, offering fierce features from Nigeria’s Tinúké and Eze Jackson, with their own punchy verses followed by Virginia saxophonist Tim Turner, who’s glistening solo serves as the perfect outro.

With so many artists and producers left hungry to collab and reconnect with peers during the pandemic, the album was a cathartic process for all involved and a relief from the isolation the world was enduring. Creating intercontinental artistic relationships, Way Out East displays multiple music cultures colliding and creating lasting bonds for Re.decay to build upon in the years to come.

Re.decay Way Out East is out now via RDK Records.

Way Out East Album Tracklist:

  1. Way Out East (ft. Chief Kellz)
  2. These Days (ft. Kirani Ayat)
  3. Seder (ft. K. Marie Kim & Ché Noir)
  4. Farther (ft. ADH & Shekhinah)
  5. Radio ft. (Temple, DDM & Brian Ennals)
  6. Nobody Knows (ft. Eze Jackson & Emmanuel Jackson)
  7. Check The Vibe (ft. Wifty Bangura & ADH)
  8. Spinal Tap
  9. Cosa Nostra (ft. Mawcom X)
  10. About A Tree (ft. Tyler Moonlight)
  11. Another Day (ft. Tinúké, Eze Jackson & Tim Turner)

For more information on Re.decay please visit:

Facebook I Twitter I Instagram

Categorized in: